The Academy of Medicine Education Foundation (AMEF) awards scholarships each year to third- and fourth-year medical students (MD / DO) who are, or were, residents of Cuyahoga, Ashtabula, Geauga, Lake, Lorain, Portage, or Summit counties, and who have demonstrated an interest in being involved in organized medicine and community activities. Applicants must also possess leadership skills and demonstrate academic achievement. AMEF scholarships will be awarded to third- and fourth-year medical students attending the following: Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine, Cleveland Clinic Lerner College of Medicine of CWRU, Northeast Ohio Medical University, or Ohio University College of Medicine.

Eligible medical students from the above-referenced medical schools may obtain a hard copy of the AMEF scholarship application from the dean’s office, financial aid office or through the registrar. 

Applications are due no later than January 31 of the year in which the student is currently applying for the scholarship during his or her third or fourth year of study.